3 vs 4 blue tooth range

Discussion in 'Apple Watch Talk' started by wendal, Dec 23, 2019.

1. wendal

wendal New Member

Model:
    Apple Watch
    I have read the blue tooth range on the series 3 is about 30 feet.
    The range on the series 4 is about 300 feet.
    Is this true in the real world?
    Also if you in your house with wifi can you go from room to room and still be connected to your phone?
    thanks

2. scifan57

scifan57 Administrator Staff Member

Top Poster Of Month

Bluetooth 4.0 has an upper range limit in the region of 300 feet or so but can be much less depending on local conditions such as walls and anything that can block radio waves.

• Like Like x 1
  3. Ken

Ken New Member

Model:
    Apple Watch
    Hi
    I have recently started using my wife’s Apple Watch series 4. As a novice I am confused! The watch is cellular. It’s Bluetooth range is about 30 feet. I would like to listen to bbc radio 4 using Bluetooth earphones and watch only but I seem to need the phone in Bluetooth range for it to work. If this is the case I might as well listen to the radio on the iPhone using my Bluetooth earphones rather than the watch. What is the point in the watch!! I think I must be missing something!!

4. scifan57

Top Poster Of Month

Do you have a cellular plan for your watch? If you have an active cellular plan with your watch or are connected to WiFi, you can listen to your music without having the phone nearby.

• Like Like x 1
  5. Ken

Ken New Member

Model:
    Apple Watch
    Hi
    Many thanks for your response. Yes I have a cellular plan but it is not music I would like to get on my watch(with Bluetooth earphones). I would like to listen to live bbc radio 4 while out jogging without my mobile.

6. scifan57

Top Poster Of Month

Is there a BBC radio 4 app in your local App Store? If there is and you have it on your Apple Watch you should be able to use it when away from your iPhone if the data CB plan for your watch is active.

• Like Like x 2